Posted in Reviews

Storyhack 0: Desert Hunt by Jon Mollison

If you like X then there’s a very good chance that you’ll like Y.

Said every librarian ever.

Something else that I’m guilty of. I can’t help it you see, I just have this need to categorise stories with other stories. In this instance, I’d happily place Mollisons’ Karl Barber story ‘Desert Hunt’ with any of the stories containing F. Paul Wilsons wonderful creation Repairman Jack. Believe me when I say that I really cannot give any higher praise, Wilson is in my top five writers and Jack is, without a doubt, my favourite hero.

You know there might be spoilers ahead, read on at your own peril!

In Desert Hunt, you get people traffickers, a stolen Yazidi girl and a guy that’s out to stop them. Seriously, what’s not to like in that setup? The locations interesting, Cairo is described well and from the actual point of view of the character. Speaking of…

Karl Barber is no Gary Stu, or Marty Stu or whatever the male equivalent of a Mary Sue is. He quite clearly has flaws as well as skills and when he’s put under duress there is a real fear that he might not make it out alive. His enemy, the big bad of this particular story is worthy of him and not some cobbled together central casting goon that’s been set up to fall down. I like that, I like that a lot.

I like that, I like that a lot.

Barber is a recurring character in a set of stories and so reading a story that he’s in is going to feel like watching an episode of a TV show. You know, one that you like and not just something you’re watching because if you don’t the other half is going to be annoyed at you for. That’s not a bad thing, just me thinking out loud I guess.

So, as far as things stand StoryHack is two for two and passes the minimum value test. For .99p you get at least two stories that are worth buying it for alone. That I got to read them while the other half was watching what she wanted was a definite Brucie bonus.

That’s all for now, take care

Dean

Author:

40+, married and a full-time father to my granddaughter (don't ask, it's complicated).

Leave a Reply

