Posted in Reviews

Storyhack 0: Hal Turk and the Lost City of the Maya by David Boop

Admission time; I’ve had a really hard time concentrating on anything frivolous this week. The terrorist attack in Manchester has obviously been at the front and back of my mind.  Still, life goes on, doesn’t it?

I read David Boop this morning as Lil Buddy was playing with her favorite aunt and I had a moment to myself. While they did whatever it is that young ladies do I settled in with a coke a couple of jaffa cakes and my Kindle.

Spoilers ahead.

Bryce has a good eye for story and I can see why he choose this one for his premier issue. It’s well written, the characters are well drawn and the tale moves along quickly, the various scenes transitioning nicely one into another. Be in no doubt, David Boop has clearly got writing chops. It’s just that I honestly believe that this story could have been so much better.

Okay, I liked this one, but I didn’t love it. It hit all the marks from the likable and quick-witted hero to the well-written action scenes but it didn’t set my skull cinema on fire. Instead, I kept seeing similar bits from one of my favorite animated films Eldorado while hearing Indiana Jones theme music. Is that a bad thing? Probably not, but it didn’t really inspire me to search out anything else that Boop has written.

It’s not a dud, I’m sure that others won’t have the seem feelings about it, purely because of the afore mentioned writing chops. It’s enjoyable, just not at the same level as the first three I read. If I’d have read this one first I’d have gone on to read others, it certainly wouldn’t have put me off. Also, as I said at the outset I fully accept that my judgment might be…compromised.

Read, enjoy and take care

Until next time

Dean

 

Author:

40+, married and a full-time father to my granddaughter (don't ask, it's complicated).

Leave a Reply

